Thu, 20 Sep 2012 12:43:03 GMT | By IANS

Pakistani lawmakers with dual nationality disqualified

Islamabad: Pakistani parliamentarians holding dual nationality were disqualified by the Supreme Court Thursday.

Pakistani lawmakers with dual nationality disqualified (© Reuters)

The Supreme Court announced the judgment on petitions challenging dual nationality according to which all the members of parliament holding dual nationality have been disqualified, Geo News reported.

The court had reserved the judgment Sep 18. The judges had earlier said that dual nationality holders could not be given the authority to make laws.

Dawn reported that the lawmakers who have been disqualified include Zahid Iqbal, Farahnaz Ispahani, Muhammad Ikhlaq, Ashraf Chauhan, Nadia Gabol, Amina Buttar, Zaheer Awan, Waseem Qadir, Farhat Muhammad Khan, Chaudhry Nadeem Khadim and Ahmed Ali Shah.

The court directed the government to withdraw the amount spent on salaries and perks from disqualified lawmakers and deposit it in the national treasury.

Check latest news on the go with your mobile device

MSN Mobile News

get connected


news videos

more news videos