Thu, 19 Jul 2012 08:08:48 GMT | By IANS

Voting begins to elect India's new president

New Delhi: Thousands of Indian MPs and assembly members representing Thursday began casting their votes to choose a new president. It is a direct contest between ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate Pranab Mukherjee and opposition-backed Purno Sangma.

India to elect new president Thursday

Voting to choose the 13th president started simultaneously at national and state capitals. The electoral college has 4,100 assembly members and 776 members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. In Delhi, polling began at 10 a.m. at Room No 63 of Parliament House. Arrangements for state legislators to vote have been made at assembly buildings in every state capital.

Polling will continue till 5 p.m. The polling will take place in the national and state capitals in which an electoral college consisting of members of parliament and the legislative assemblies will vote. The votes will be counted Sunday, three days before the five-year tenure of President Pratibha Patil ends.The 13th Indian president is expected to enter Rashtrapati Bhavan by July 25.

MSN Mobile News

get connected


news videos

more news videos