Sat, 01 Mar 2014 16:15:00 GMT | By IANS

President’s Rule in AP; Pranab Mukherjee signs Telangana Bill

The President of India has given his assent to the imposition of President’s Rule in Andhra Pradesh, while also formally signing the Telangana Bill

President’s Rule in AP; Pranab Mukherjee signs Telangana Bill (© Reuters)

New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee has given his assent to the bill to carve a Telangana state out of Andhra Pradesh, which also came under central rule Saturday with the signing of a separate proclamation.

The signing of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Bill 2014 paved the way for creating Telangana as India's 29th state. The central government will now issue a gazette notification with an appointed date or the date on which Telangana state will formally come into being.

The bill was passed by parliament on February 20, despite strong opposition by lawmakers from Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and coastal Andhra).

Telangana will comprise 10 districts (including Hyderabad), which will serve as the common capital of Telangana and successor state of Andhra Pradesh for 10 years.

The successor state of Andhra Pradesh will have 13 districts.

Mukherjee also gave his nod to imposing President's Rule in Andhra Pradesh, as decided by the union cabinet on Friday.

The Andhra Pradesh assembly, whose term was to end on June 2, will now be in suspended animation, much like the New Delhi government after Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal’s resignation earlier this year.

The union cabinet took the decision, relating to Andhra Pradesh, on Friday, after a recommendation from Governor E S L Narasimhan. This was following the resignation of chief minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy on February 19, to protest the division of the state.

MSN Mobile News

get connected


news videos

more news videos