Wed, 14 Dec 2011 09:54:28 GMT

BJP announces first list of 143 candidates for UP elections

New Delhi, Dec 13 (PTI) BJP leaders Kalraj Mishra, Surya Pratap Sahi, Kesari Nath Tripathi and Om Prakash figure in the first list of 143 candidates of the party for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.
The BJP Central Election Committee, headed by party president Nitin Gadkari, met here today to finalise the names of candidates.

Kalraj Mishra, who is party''s national vice-president, will contest from Lucknow (East), while state unit president Surya Pratap Sahi will be the candidate from Pathardeva.
Former UP minister and OBC leader Om Prakash will contest from Chunar constituency, while former Assembly Speaker Kesari Nath Tripathi will be the candidate from Allahabad (South).

Ramapati Ram Tripathi, former state BJP president, will contest from Siswa, while Yuva Morcha national vice-president Raghav Lakhan Pal will be the candidate from Saharanpur Nagar constituency.
Deputy leader of BJP legislature party in UP Assembly Hukum Singh Gurjar will be party candidate from Khairawa and Sadhvi Prachi Arya will be in the fray from Purkhaji (SC).
Of the 143 candidates announced by the BJP, 40 belong to the Scheduled Caste reserved category while 17 are women.
BJP had stood third among the political parties in the 2007 elections with 98 seats in the 403 member UP Assembly.
The party is leaving nothing to chance in the forthcoming polls. While former party president Rajnath Singh and Kalraj Mishra had taken out two simultaneous yatras last month, the party has given the job of activating and enthusing the party cadre to firebrand leader Uma Bharti and former general secretary (organisation) Sanjay Joshi.

MSN Mobile News

get connected


news videos

more news videos