Updated: Tue, 19 Aug 2014 05:15:00 GMT | By Agencies
The Telangana struggle: A timeline in pictures

Telangana movement is unique for its mass democratic character. The agitation over ‘regional inequality’ has been distinguished by wide ranging and active participation of diverse sections of population. We trace the 'history' of this historic movement - from 1948 to 2014

Previous1 of 31Next
Share this Gallery


The region, now being called Telangana, was part of the erstwhile Hyderabad state which was merged into the Indian Union on 17 September, 1948. The Hyderabad State was ruled by Qutub Shahi and Nizam dynasties for 400 years.

The region corresponds to the Telugu speaking part of the erstwhile princely state of Hyderabad. Central government appointed a civil servant, M K Vellodi, as the first Chief Minister of Hyderabad state on 26 January 1950. In 1952, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao was elected Chief Minister of Hyderabad state in the first democratic election.

World Cup 2014