Updated: Mon, 15 Oct 2012 04:00:00 GMT | By Francis Whittaker
British Royal Palaces: A Guide

Everyone knows Buckingham Palace, but what about the other royal residences in the UK?

Buckingham Palace (© PA/Matt Crossick)
  • Buckingham Palace (© PA/Matt Crossick)
  • Windsor Castle (© PA/Martin Keene)
  • Balmoral Castle (© PA/Chris Bacon)
  • Kensington Palace (© PA/Martin Keene)
  • Clarence House (© PA/Sean Dempsey)
  • Highgrove House (© PA)
  • St James's Palace (© Alamy)
  • The Tower of London (© PA/Dominic Lipinski)
PA/Matt CrossickShow Thumbnails
Previous1 of 20Next
Share this Gallery

Buckingham Palace

City of Westminster, London
History: Built in 1702 for the Duke of Buckingham, Buckingham Palace has been the official London residence of the British monarch since Queen Victoria's accession in 1837. Current residents are the Queen, Prince Phillip, and the families of her youngest sons The Duke of York and the Earl of Wessex.

Find out more:

World Cup 2014