• MSN Elections 2014 Battle for India
Mon, 07 Apr 2014 10:00:00 GMT | By PTI

TDP announces first list of candidates for LS, AP state polls

TDP follows announcement of poll alliance with BJP by revealing list of names for LS and state polls; BJP will contest 8 LS seats and 47 state seats

TDP announces first list of candidates for LS, AP state polls (© AP)

Hyderabad: With the last date for filing of nominations two days away, and also with its electoral alliance with the BJP been finalised, the Telugu Desam Party today announced its first list of candidates for the April 30 elections to Lok Sabha and state Assembly in Telangana.

TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu said candidates for 27 Assembly and three Lok Sabha constituencies were finalised while nominees for other segments were being chosen.

Sitting MP Ramesh Rathod has been re-nominated from Adilabad while K Madan Mohan Rao and Banoth Mohan Lal have been named as candidates for Zahirabad and Mahbubabad (ST) Lok Sabha constituencies.

Six sitting MLAs have also been re-nominated from their respective seats while 21 others, including former ministers, have been given tickets in the first list.

Out of the 119 Assembly segments in Telangana, the TDP will be contesting 72, leaving 47 to its alliance partner BJP. Of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies, the TDP will contest in nine and the BJP in eight.


pulse of the nation >

Education qualification: Should Smriti Irani come clean?

Thanks for being one of the first people to vote. Results will be available soon. Check for results

    38 %
    Yes. She must clarify the discrepancies in her affidavits
    765 votes
    20 %
    No. She must instead focus on her ministry to prove critics wrong
    410 votes
    42 %
    Educational qualifications do not matter to become a minister. His/her work counts
    832 votes

Total Responses: 2,007
Not scientifically valid. Results are updated every minute.