• MSN Elections 2014 Battle for India
Fri, 14 Mar 2014 02:15:00 GMT

States of Union: Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh is an important state for Congress and this has been demonstrated by the way the party has pushed Telangana Bill in the parliament

States of Union: Andhra Pradesh

Among all the states, Andhra Pradesh will witness the most upheaval in the coming Lok Sabha elections after it was bifurcated into Telangana, which will become the 29th state of the country. In the 2009 general elections, Congress Party won 33 out of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in Andhra but a question mark hangs over the party’s prospects in the 2014 elections.

Chief Minister Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned from his post and quit Congress to form a new political outfit in protest against the creation of Telagana and many party MPs from the state openly revolted against the Congress-led UPA’s decision on Telangana. However, the oldest party of the country has played its cards shrewdly, and the way it pushed the bill for the creation of Telangana in the parliament, clearly demonstrates how important the state is for the Congress.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) led by K. Chandrashekhar Rao has been at the forefront of the agitation for the creation of Telangana and the party will look to add to the 2 seats it won in the 2009 elections after the ‘victory’ it achieved when the Telangana bill was passed by the Parliament. YSR Congress Party, founded by YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, will make its debut in the general elections.

Jagan has always opposed the bifurcation of the state and this has made the party popular in the Seemandhra region, which according to analysts, will bring in votes for the fledgling party. Telugu Desam Party (TDP), which trounced the Congress in the 1984 and 1999 general elections, has hit a low in the last two parliamentary polls when it won just 5 seats (2004) and 6 seats (2009).

TDP is up against its traditional rival the Congress and a resurgent TRS, both riding on the successful creation of Telangana. It also cannot discount the challenge posed by YSR Cong, which has grabbed lot of attention in three years since its inception.

Andhra Pradesh: Election History
YearPartyHighest Seats WonTotal Seats
1957Indian National Congress3743
1962Indian National Congress3443
1967Indian National Congress3541
1971Indian National Congress2841
1977Indian National Congress4142
1980Indian National Congress4142
1984Telugu Desam Party3042
1989Indian National Congress3942
1991Indian National Congress2542
1996Indian National Congress2242
1998Indian National Congress2242
1999Telugu Desam Party2941
2004Indian National Congress2942
2009Indian National Congress3342




Election 2014

pulse of the nation >

Education qualification: Should Smriti Irani come clean?

Thanks for being one of the first people to vote. Results will be available soon. Check for results

    38 %
    Yes. She must clarify the discrepancies in her affidavits
    778 votes
    20 %
    No. She must instead focus on her ministry to prove critics wrong
    416 votes
    42 %
    Educational qualifications do not matter to become a minister. His/her work counts
    844 votes

Total Responses: 2,038
Not scientifically valid. Results are updated every minute.