• MSN Elections 2014 Battle for India
Updated: Thu, 10 Apr 2014 09:00:00 GMT | By PTI

Delhi, UP among big seats voting today

The first substantial round of polling begins today in 92 seats across 11 states and three Union Territories; prominent candidates include Kapil Sibal, Nagma, Shashi Tharoor and former army chief V K Singh among others

Delhi, UP among big seats voting today (© Reuters)

New Delhi: The stage is now set for the first substantial round of polling in the Lok Sabha elections on Thursday involving nearly 11 crore voters in 92 seats spread across 11 states, including Delhi and the national capital region and the riot-hit Muzaffarnagar.

This will be the third round in the nine-phased elections which began on April 7 and will conclude on May 12. Thursday's round will also cover three Union Territories.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meria Kumar, seven union ministers including Kapil Sibal, Kamal Nath, Shashi Tharoor (all of Congress), Ajit Singh of RLD and former army chief V K Singh and Harsh Vardhan (both BJP) are the key nominees among the 1418 candidates in the fray in Thursday's round.

Ten of the 80 constituencies in politically key Uttar Pradesh go to polls on Thursday and they include communally-sensitive and riot-hit Muzaffarnagar, Saharanpur, Kairana, Aligarh, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad, Gautambudh Nagar and Bulandshahar.

With Narendra Modi aide Amit Shah's controversial "revenge" remarks in Muzaffarnagar having stirred a controversy, significance in attached to polling in these ten constituencies.

Prominent among those contesting in this phase are Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) chief Ajit Singh pitted against former Mumbai police commissioner Satyapal Singh (BJP) in Baghpat, recent RLD entrant actress-politician Jaya Prada (Bijnor), film stars Nagma (Meerut) and Raj Babbar (Ghaziabad-both Cong), AAP's Shazia Ilmi and former Army chief and BJP's V K Singh in Ghaziabad, and riot accused Kadir Rana (BSP) in Muzaffarnagar.

Seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi will go to polls in which an estimated 1.27 crore voters will decide the fate of a total of 150 candidates including Congress' minister Kapil Sibal, former minister Ajay Maken, Delhi BJP president Harsh Vardhan, former DPCC chief J P Agarwal and Sandeep Dikshit, son of former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit and BJP's Meenakshi Lekhi and Bhojpuri singer Manoj Tiwari.

Another important state going to poll is Bihar where six of the total of 40 seats will be decided including Sasaram where Lok Sabha Speaker Kumar is seeking another victory.

In the wake of three-cornered contest in almost all 40 seats in Bihar, every seat will count and voting for six seats could show which way the wind is blowing in the state.
Other important leaders in fray in Bihar include former Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar and Chirag Paswan, actor-turned politician son of LJP President Ramvilas Paswan.

Kerala will witness a one-day polling to all its 20 seats where ruling Congress-led UDF and opposition CPI(M)-led LDF are locked in a fierce combat.

Among the key candidates in fray are six Union Ministers --Shashi Tharoor, Kodikunnil Suresh, K C Venugopal, K V Thomas, Mullapally Ramachandran, P C Chacko (all Congress) and E Ahamed (IUML) and former Union Minister M P Veerendrakumar.

Madhya Pradesh will have polling in in nine Lok Sabha constituencies where senior Congress leader and Union Minister Kamal Nath, former Union Minister and BJP leader Faggan Singh Kulaste and state Congress leader Ajay Singh are in fray among others.


pulse of the nation >

Education qualification: Should Smriti Irani come clean?

Thanks for being one of the first people to vote. Results will be available soon. Check for results

    38 %
    Yes. She must clarify the discrepancies in her affidavits
    775 votes
    20 %
    No. She must instead focus on her ministry to prove critics wrong
    414 votes
    42 %
    Educational qualifications do not matter to become a minister. His/her work counts
    837 votes

Total Responses: 2,026
Not scientifically valid. Results are updated every minute.